It didn’t take long for something weird to happen rules-wise at this week’s U.S. Open. This one came courtesy of a Mr. Bryson DeChambeau.
He missed the fairway on the par-5 fourth and was forced to lay up his second back into the fairway. His ball came to rest in the crosswalk, meaning he was allowed to take relief. But this is where it got a little strange.
DeChambeau told his caddie to pick up his ball, which he did, but after examining possible drop locations, DeChambeau decided to play from his original position in the path. But because his caddie didn’t mark where the ball was with a tee, Bryson then had to take a drop somewhere.
When he finally found a spot, DeChambeau placed the ball on the ground instead of dropping it from his knee. Thankfully for him, a rules official stopped him before he could play the shot and told him he needed to drop it. That gesture saved the Big Golfer a penalty stroke.
They don’t call him the King of Content for nothing, folks.
U.S. Open: How to Watch, Tee Times | Picks to Win
Share this article
Share this article
Get our top stories in your inbox, including the latest drops in style, the need-to-know news in pro golf, and the latest episodes of Skratch’s original series.
Skratch 2025 © All rights reserved