logo
Shane Lowry Assessed Two-Shot Penalty After the Second Round of The Open
News

1 MIN READ

July 18, 2025

Shane Lowry Assessed Two-Shot Penalty After the Second Round of The Open

Shane Lowry caused his ball to move and was assessed a two-stroke penalty. He's now even-par for the tournament.

On Royal Portrush’s par-5 12th on Friday afternoon, Shane Lowry took a practice swing next to his ball in the rough and caused his ball to move When it happened, he wasn’t looking at the ball, so he had no idea it happened and didn’t call it in himself.

Rules officials will speak with Lowry after the round to determine if he'll be assessed a penalty. It might be costly, as he's just a few shots clear of the cut line.

Lowry was 1-under for the tournament at the time and eight shots back of leader Matt Fitzpatrick.

Six years ago, the last time Royal Portrush hosted The Open, Lowry was named the Champion Golfer of the Year.

UPDATE: Lowry was assessed a two-stroke penalty after speaking with officials.



Share this article

Share this article

skratch logo

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER

Get our top stories in your inbox, including the latest drops in style, the need-to-know news in pro golf, and the latest episodes of Skratch’s original series.

golf stick
golf stick

RELATED ARTICLES

In Case You Missed It: Notable Gear Drops From a Busy Week Abroad

In Case You Missed It: Notable Gear Drops From a Busy Week Abroad

Ryan Barath

Out at Portrush, Embedded with the Moroney Bros

Out at Portrush, Embedded with the Moroney Bros

Alan Shipnuck

Shane Lowry Assessed Two-Shot Penalty After the Second Round of The Open

Shane Lowry Assessed Two-Shot Penalty After the Second Round of The Open

Riley Hamel

logo

Skratch 2025 © All rights reserved

Follow us on social media

Every product is independently selected by editors. Things you buy through our links may earn us a commission.